<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!-- generator="wordpress/2.2.1" -->
<rss version="2.0" 
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Microsoft Offers a Bribe - Free Website and Domain and Email</title>
	<link>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email</link>
	<description>Keeping You In Touch With Technology</description>
	<pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 14:04:44 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.2.1</generator>

	<item>
		<title>By: charlie</title>
		<link>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-4854</link>
		<author>charlie</author>
		<pubDate>Sat, 23 Dec 2006 22:32:25 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-4854</guid>
		<description>that was really helpful thankyou very much; I was very concerned when I went on the site about, maybe 6 months ago, not sure, and it wanted my credit card number so I just wanted to see if it was genuine. I'm concerned about lack of html fiddling being allowed, but at the end of the day, I'm getting fond of msn myspace and if it functions anything like that I'm happy - anyway thanks for the article it was perfect, everything I wanted to hear - charlie (Australia)</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>that was really helpful thankyou very much; I was very concerned when I went on the site about, maybe 6 months ago, not sure, and it wanted my credit card number so I just wanted to see if it was genuine. I&#8217;m concerned about lack of html fiddling being allowed, but at the end of the day, I&#8217;m getting fond of msn myspace and if it functions anything like that I&#8217;m happy - anyway thanks for the article it was perfect, everything I wanted to hear - charlie (Australia)</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: jspirko</title>
		<link>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-37</link>
		<author>jspirko</author>
		<pubDate>Thu, 24 Aug 2006 18:12:44 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-37</guid>
		<description>Craig,

Thanks for the comments.  Note that I NEVER said that the CC requirement was a scam at all.  In fact I said word for word,

"Free domain name and hosting, - This one checks out the hosting provides 30 MB which is plenty for most small business sites or personal sites that would use a free tool like this. The domain is really yours, if you want to take it with you to another host you will then have to pay for it, once you move it, but it is free as long as you use Microsoft Office Live and YOU DO OWN IT personally"

However, I am seriously dismayed about the inability to edit HTML more so now after dealing with the problems it causes then when I wrote the first review.  It just makes no sense to me that Microsoft (in my opinion the best software company in the world) would build a site builder with out this functinality.

You now have the distinction of being the only site builder in the world where you can't edit the html source.  Not a good thing to be in my opinion!

Further the massizve problems with FireFox layouts are pretty bad too.  I know you guys want the world to us IE but it just is not the way it is.

Last now I am stuck with that domain on your builder for 6 months.  To bads since I aready used it to crack the top ten on Google!  There is so much I can't do with Live Basic at this time I am going to have to turn the site into a gateway and hope you improve it in time.

Sorry to be so tough but in the blog world there is no spin,

Jack</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Craig,</p>
<p>Thanks for the comments.  Note that I NEVER said that the CC requirement was a scam at all.  In fact I said word for word,</p>
<p>&#8220;Free domain name and hosting, - This one checks out the hosting provides 30 MB which is plenty for most small business sites or personal sites that would use a free tool like this. The domain is really yours, if you want to take it with you to another host you will then have to pay for it, once you move it, but it is free as long as you use Microsoft Office Live and YOU DO OWN IT personally&#8221;</p>
<p>However, I am seriously dismayed about the inability to edit HTML more so now after dealing with the problems it causes then when I wrote the first review.  It just makes no sense to me that Microsoft (in my opinion the best software company in the world) would build a site builder with out this functinality.</p>
<p>You now have the distinction of being the only site builder in the world where you can&#8217;t edit the html source.  Not a good thing to be in my opinion!</p>
<p>Further the massizve problems with FireFox layouts are pretty bad too.  I know you guys want the world to us IE but it just is not the way it is.</p>
<p>Last now I am stuck with that domain on your builder for 6 months.  To bads since I aready used it to crack the top ten on Google!  There is so much I can&#8217;t do with Live Basic at this time I am going to have to turn the site into a gateway and hope you improve it in time.</p>
<p>Sorry to be so tough but in the blog world there is no spin,</p>
<p>Jack</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Craig Fifield [Office Live PM]</title>
		<link>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-35</link>
		<author>Craig Fifield [Office Live PM]</author>
		<pubDate>Thu, 24 Aug 2006 15:33:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-35</guid>
		<description>Hey Jack,

Thanks for trying us out! Glad to hear you like what we've done so far.

The CC requirement is not a scam at all, it just there to prevent people from using us for 100s of free domains as the FAQ says. 

As for your other pain points, I assure you they are all on our list of upcoming fixes.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hey Jack,</p>
<p>Thanks for trying us out! Glad to hear you like what we&#8217;ve done so far.</p>
<p>The CC requirement is not a scam at all, it just there to prevent people from using us for 100s of free domains as the FAQ says. </p>
<p>As for your other pain points, I assure you they are all on our list of upcoming fixes.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: ComTech News &#187; Blog Archive &#187; Quick Review of Blogger Beta</title>
		<link>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-33</link>
		<author>ComTech News &#187; Blog Archive &#187; Quick Review of Blogger Beta</author>
		<pubDate>Wed, 23 Aug 2006 15:07:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-33</guid>
		<description>[...] In Keeping with my recent review of Microsoft&#8217;s Office Live where I set up a play site for the African House Snake I decided to use the new Blogger product to set up the African House Snake Blog to accompany the site as a fun way to try out the new service. [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[&#8230;] In Keeping with my recent review of Microsoft&#8217;s Office Live where I set up a play site for the African House Snake I decided to use the new Blogger product to set up the African House Snake Blog to accompany the site as a fun way to try out the new service. [&#8230;]</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: The Microsoft adCenter Code Blog &#187; Free Website Hosting and Domain From Microsoft</title>
		<link>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-25</link>
		<author>The Microsoft adCenter Code Blog &#187; Free Website Hosting and Domain From Microsoft</author>
		<pubDate>Mon, 14 Aug 2006 18:47:12 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.comtechnews.net/pc-and-computing/microsoft-offers-a-bribe-free-website-and-domain-and-email#comment-25</guid>
		<description>[...] Microsoft Offers a Bribe - Free Website and Domain and Email [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[&#8230;] Microsoft Offers a Bribe - Free Website and Domain and Email [&#8230;]</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
